This is a selection of historical primary source databases most closely related to this class. For a full list of available resources see the Online Primary Sources Research Guide
This collection includes part I & II. Digital images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Access to full text of books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons, and pamphlets in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Terms of Use
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Note: A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund Terms of Use
Current collections include: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: the Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: the World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II; and Women: Transnational Networks.
The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) It is a collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more. Terms of Use
This collection provides a wide-ranging and in depth look at the emigration of peoples from Great Britain, mainland Europe and Asia during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Personal diaries, letters, travel journals and scrapbooks are supplemented by original maps, watercolours, engravings, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material which provide significant context to these eye-witness accounts. Included within the collection are also documents from the late-eighteenth century discussing the early stages of emigration and mid-twentieth century photographs showing the immigration process. Terms of Use
Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, This database is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, it provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund: 2013 Terms of Use
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive has over 200 years of this invaluable historical source. Terms of Use
Digital archive of The Guardian and The Observer (1791-1909). Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Terms of Use
19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others. Terms of Use
This link opens in a new window
