LibGuides: Library Research Award: Extra! Research Opportunities

Research, Presentation, and Publication Opportunities for Students at WSU

Inter- or multi-disciplinary opportunities for undergraduate students:

Diverse Women's Summit
There is a different theme each year for research and creative activities affecting women and gender. The Student Showcase consists of papers, art, posters and other projects by students. The Creative Concourse consists of poetry, skits, stories and other presentation by community members and students. A keynote speech is also included on the agenda each year.
Earth Day Poster Competition
The Earth Day organizing committee invites students to present their research at the annual Shockers Go Green-Earth Day Student Poster Competition.
Honors College
Discover undergraduate research opportunities through the Dorothy & Bill Cohen Honors College.
Kansas Undergraduate Research Day at the Capitol
An annual opportunity for students to present their research experiences with state lawmakers in Topeka. Application deadline is usually the end of January.
Library Research Award
This is a competition for a financial award for undergraduate and graduate individual and group research and creative projects. Applicants must complete a description of how they used the University Libraries' collections, services, equipment and/or facilities in their research project.
McNair Scholars Program
This TRIO program provides research participation, scholarly experiences and preparation for graduate school.
Model United Nations
The Model United Nations program prepares students to take on the role of diplomats from a foreign country in a simulation of UN committee meetings. Students become experts on particular global issues and then meet with other "diplomats" representing countries around the world to write resolutions.
Service-Learning Showcase
The Service-Learning Showcase is a unique opportunity for students who participate in academic service-learning to showcase their experience through a research or reflective poster about the application of their course work to current community issues.
Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities Grant Program
UReCA grants up to $1000 support collaborative student and faculty research. Presentation at URCAF is required.
Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity Forum (URCAF)
URCAF provides an opportunity for undergraduate students at Wichita State University to present their scholarly and creative activity to a faculty, student and community audience, while competing for cash awards.

Inter- or multi-disciplinary opportunities for graduate students:

3-Minute Thesis (3MT®)
Any graduate student enrolled in masters, PhD or doctoral programs may compete. See also https://threeminutethesis.uq.edu.au/, founders.
Capitol Graduate Research Summit
Provides an opportunity for selected graduate students to expose state government, education officials, and the public to the quality of graduate research in physical and natural sciences, engineering, sociology, history and education.
Graduate School
Many graduate programs at WSU offer research opportunities.
GRASP
Graduate Research and Scholarly Projects (GRASP) Symposium provides an opportunity for graduate students at Wichita State University to present their scholarly and creative activity to a faculty, student and community audience.
Library Research Award
This is a competition for a financial award for undergraduate and graduate individual and group research and creative projects. Applicants must complete a description of how they used the University Libraries' collections, services, equipment and/or facilities in their research project.
Service-Learning Showcase
The Service-Learning Showcase is a unique opportunity for students who participate in academic service-learning to showcase their experience through a research or reflective poster about the application of their course work to current community issues.

FYRE
An applied learning program designed to connect first-year students with authentic hands-on research experiences in a variety of STEM-related disciplines.
K-INBRE Symposium
Kansas IDeA (Institutional Development Awards) Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (K-INBRE) Symposium is an annual, regional opportunity for undergraduate scientific research presentations with monetary awards
Undergraduate Research Experiences (URE)
Students must select from a list of projects found under Step 1 through the link. Students who are selected receive $3500 for salary plus up to $500 for supplies and work with a professor doing research during summer and fall. A presentation at URCAF (April) is required. Students must be pursuing either a STEM degree or Engineering degree.
Wichita State Analytics Posters
This event is a great opportunity to present your data analytics research or applied project to WSU community, Industry and other stakeholders. The WSU Analytics Showcase deepens your understanding of accomplishments in the field of analytics in terms of research advances, curricular programs, analytics software, hardware, and skill-building, and it is a great opportunity to interact with other data analytics researchers and practitioners.
WSU Ventures
Protect and license your invention and connect with industries and researchers at this new WSU department.

Koch Innovation Challenge
Course-specific competition: The College of Engineering includes the Koch Innovation Challenge in the Engineering 101 Introduction to Engineering and Introduction to Technology & Innovation Freshman Seminar general education courses. Access to a project innovation laboratory, lectures, lab assignments, and team building activities support the ideals of the competition for all cross-disciplinary student team members.
Shocker New Venture Competition
Designed to inspire campus innovation and develop entrepreneurial mindsets. This event connects students from all academic disciplines to take key steps in developing world solutions.

Fairmount Folio: Journal of History
The Fairmount Folio is a board-reviewed journal published annually by the history honorary organization, Phi Alpha Theta, and the WSU Department of History. It publishes general history articles that range chronologically from ancient history to modern history, from the history of peoples from around the world, and include cultural, political, economic, and social emphasis.
Kansas English
Kansas English is a peer reviewed open access journal published annually by Kansas Association of Teachers of English.
Mikrokosmos and mojo Literary Journal
Mikrokosmos, the literary journal of Wichita State's MFA program and mojo, online counterpart of Mikrokosmos, provide opportunities for WSU students, faculty, alumni and talented writers across the nation to publish prose, poetry and art.

The Advanced Generalist: Social Work Research Journal
The mission of the journal is to disseminate high quality research that is closely aligned with WSU School of Social Work advanced generalist perspectives and themes of social justice, cultural competency, multidimensional practice and empowerment.
Diverse Women's Summit
Presentations may be in the form of a speech, paper, poetry, skit or other creative project. topics accepted include issues of special populations, citizenship before and after suffrage, gender-based violence, and celebration.
Gender & Sexuality in Kansas Conference
State-wide annual conference, hosted by Wichita State University Sociology Department, WSU Office of Diversity and Inclusion, and Shocker Sociology Club

Finding a Mentor

Looking for a faculty member to work with? Sometimes finding a faculty mentor to work with is as simple as asking your current professors.

Faculty Research Interests
Look for lists of faculty member bios in that department; these will often include current research projects each faculty member is working on. The Honors College sometimes is able to pair student researchers with faculty projects. You may also want to look at different departmental webpages on the WSU website.

SOAR
Browse through SOAR, WSU's Institutional Repository, to see the open access research projects and papers WSU faculty members have published. This can help you target in on a faculty member that has similar research interests as you, and give you some talking points when you approach that faculty member as a possible mentor.

Scholarly Research in SOAR Web Guide
Includes direct links to some individual faculty research collections, departmental collections of research articles, and SOAR hosted journals and proceedings, ETDs, books, patents, and collections of digital images.
Undergraduate Research facilitated by Cohen Honors College
WSU Faculty Directory