Databases (back to top)
CINAHL with Full Text
![]()
Indexes over 2,900 journals in nursing and allied health with full-text articles from more than 600 journals. Coverage: 1981-present. 30 simultaneous users shared with five other Kansas libraries. View terms of use. (Ebsco)
Cochrane Library
![]()
Collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, methods, studies, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials. View terms of use. (Wiley)
Google Scholar
![]()
Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.
Health and Wellness Resource Center (includes Alternative Health Module)
Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from health/medical journals, general interest periodicals, pamphlets, videos, and reference encyclopedias and directories. Also includes links to health assessment sites and government databases. Coverage: 1980-present. View terms of use. (Gale)
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, Searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). (EBSCO) View Terms of Use
MEDLINE (Proquest)
![]()
Provides citations and abstracts for over 4,800 journals published worldwide in the life sciences with an emphasis on medicine and health. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings.) Coverage: 2000-present. (Proquest)
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Citations and abstracts of articles in more than 800 journals covering nursing, allied health, alternative medicine, etc. Full-text access to over 700 journal titles and 12,000 dissertations. Coverage: 1986-present. View terms of use. (Proquest)
Click here to browse a list of video training resources.
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for articles in scholarly journals published worldwide in all areas of psychology. Coverage: 1892-present. Also provides citations and abstracts for English language books and book chapters and dissertations. Coverage 1987-present. View terms of use. (Proquest)
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text from thousands of biomedical journals published worldwide in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1966-present. Using this link to PubMed will provide links to WSU Library subscribed full text resources. (National Library of Medicine)
Web of Science
![]()
Citations to articles in thousands of scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts/humanities. Also indexes cited references in all articles. Coverage: 1988-present. View terms of use. (Thomson) Special Note: Access to WoS was originally provided by the Estate of Evelyn D. Cassat, Abilene, KS
Government Information (back to top)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
National Guideline Clearinghouse
NCG is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
Handbooks & Guides (back to top)
Nurse's manual of laboratory and diagnostic tests
Journals/Magazines (back to top)
Reference Sources (back to top)
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, 2nd. Ed.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions
Includes illustrations and encyclopedic entries to explain more difficult concepts in depth. (Elsevier, 2009)
National Center for Health Statistics
Access to statistics, survey information, and data sets.
Web sites (back to top)
AHRQ Patient Safety Network
A national patient safety resource from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Includes patient safety primers, journal articles, government fact sheets, and more.


