Search website:
Libraries WSU
Primary Resources
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Digital facsimile images of full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Each issue is captured cover-to-cover with access to every article, advertisement and illustration. Alternate title:  Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers.  (Gale)

African American Newspapers: 1827-1998

Provides online access to newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.  It features approximately 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.  (Readex)

American West Digital Project
Digital archive of sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.  (Adam Matthew Digital)

America's Historical Newspapers

Full-text coverage of early American newspapers from all 50 states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876); Early American Newspapers, Series II (1758-1900); and Early American Newspapers, Series III (1829-1922). (Readex)

Economist Historical Archive 1843-2006
A complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.  (Gale)

Newsbank
Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers: Emporia Gazette (2002-  ), Kansas City Star (1991-  )Lawrence Journal-World (1990-  ), Manhattan Mercury (1997-  ), Topeka Capital-Journal (2002-  ) and Wichita Eagle (1984-   ).

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.  Current collections include:  British Politics and Society; Asia and the West:  Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Theatre, Music, and Literature:  High and Popular Culture; and Corvey Collection of European Literature:  1790-1840.  (Gale)

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Provided by the University of Kansas, these maps give detailed historical information about cities and towns throughout Kansas.

Slavery & Anti-Slavery Collection
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement for the abolition of slavery from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century.  The collection includes - part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, and part III: the Institution of Slavery.  Slavery and Anti-Slavery.  It contains books, serials, manuscript collections, supreme court records and briefs, essays, biographies, bibliographies, and more.  (Gale)

The New York Times
Provides access to the New York Times online for the years 1851-2008. This database offers full-page-images and article images. Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.  (Proquest)

Wichita Eagle
Digitized by the Library of Congress.  Available dates range from 1890-1906 and is a full text searchable database.  We have the Eagle from 1872-current on microfilm in the library.


JSTOR Tutorial


JSTOR is a great database for doing historical research.  Here is a brief introductory tutorial on how to
begin searching.
Videos from Youtube
Wonderful animated video discussing the history of the English Language.


Historical Misconceptions.


All Items by Source

Databases (back to top)

America: History and Life WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Abstracts available
Indexes and abstracts articles in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in U.S. and Canadian history. Also indexes essays, books, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage: 1964-present.  View terms of use.   (Ebsco)  6 simultaneous users.

HathiTrust Available to everyone Full text available Abstracts available
A growing partnership of over 70 libraries and research institutions, primarily university libraries, pooling their resources to create a digital library. The primary goals are long-term preservation of fragile collections, along with methods for making these records more readily accessible while still respecting in-copyright works.  While WSU faculty, staff, and students can search across the entire digital library, they have full-text access to only the items in the Public Collections.

HeritageQuest WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available Abstracts available
American genealogical and historical sources including U.S. Federal Censuses, genealogy and local history books, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank Records, and LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set. Coverage dates back to the 1700s.  View terms of use.

Oxford English Dictionary WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
Online edition of accepted authority and guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language. Provides comprehensive etymological analysis and listing of variant spellings while tracing the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations. (OUP)

Project MUSE WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Full text available http://library.wichita.edu/reference/images/PDF/ProjectMuse.pdf
Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.

Expanded Academic ASAP WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Some full text available
General database that indexes scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images -- across all disciplines.  View terms of use.  (Gale)

Gale Virtual Reference Library WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Full text available
Collection of ebook reference works in all disciplines including multivolume encyclopedias, biographical directories, business plan handbooks, consumer health references, dictionaries, etc. View terms of use. (Gale)

Humanities Full Text WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Full text available
The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more. Coverage dates:  Indexing 1984+, Abstracting 1984+, “select” Full Text 1994+  (EBSCO)   View terms of use

JSTOR WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Full text available
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.   View terms of use.

WorldCat WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Abstracts available Index
World's most comprehensive bibliography with over 40 million records of all types of materials (e.g. books, dissertations, manuscripts, serials, sound recordings, videos) cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Coverage:1200-present. (OCLC).

Databases - supplemental (back to top)

European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 Available to everyone Index
An index of European works that relate to the Americas.  It is a guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.  It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.  A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.   (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use

Library of Congress: American Memory Available to everyone Full text available Some full text available Abstracts available
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

American State Papers, 1789-1838 WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
Full-text access to legislative and executive documents of Congress from 1789-1838. Arranged by topic: Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs, Finances, Commerce and Navigation, Military Affairs, Naval Affairs, Post Office Department, Public Lands, Claims, and Miscellaneous.  Part of the Archive of Americana collection.  (Readex)

U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817-1980 WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only
The maps published as part of U.S. Congressional Serial Set publications. Click on Serial Set Maps link on the opening page.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
NewsBank offers reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes from 1817-1980.  Part of the Archive of Americana collection.

Duke Papyrus Archive Available to everyone Some full text available
The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. The target audience includes: papyrologists, ancient historians, archaeologists, biblical scholars, classicists, Coptologists, Egyptologists, students of literature and religion and all others interested in ancient Egypt. The project of conserving, interpreting, cataloguing and imaging the largely unpublished Duke papyrus collection was supported by a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities , and is part of the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS) Project. Project staff at Duke have included Steven L. Hensen, John F. Oates, Peter van Minnen, Suzanne D. Corr, Paolo Mangiafico, Joshua Sosin, and John Bauschatz.

Web of Science WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Abstracts available http://libraries.wichita.edu/subsplus/assets/fckuserfiles/file/WebofScience.pdf
Citations to articles in thousands of scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts/humanities. Also indexes cited references in all articles. Coverage: 1988-present.  View terms of use.   (Thomson) Special Note: Access to WoS was originally provided by the Estate of Evelyn D. Cassat, Abilene, KS

E-Books (back to top)

ACLS Humanities E-Book WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
Full-text collection of over 1500 books in the Humanities from the American Council of Learned Societies. Formerly ACLS History E-Book Project.

eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Full text available Index
Over 7,000 reference and other e-books in all subject areas purchased and shared with libraries in Kansas and eleven other states as well as a public collection of nearly 4,000 e-books that are in the public domain. View terms of use.  (EBSCO)

Information on how to create an account, click here.

Project Gutenberg Available to everyone
Project Gutenberg is the place where you can download over 33,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device.

Journals/Magazines (back to top)

e-journals.org (WWW Virtual Library) Available to everyone Some full text available

Reference Sources (back to top)

ARBA Online WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
Quality reviews of print and electronic reference works. Coverage: 1997-present. (Derived from the authoritative print resource, American Reference Books Annual.)

Sourcebooks (back to top)

Internet History Sourcebooks Project Available to everyone
 Paul Halsell, editor, Fordham University

Internet Ancient History Sourcebook Available to everyone

Internet Medieval History Sourcebook Available to everyone

Internet Modern History Sourcebook Available to everyone

Internet African History Sourcebook Available to everyone

Internet East Asian History Sourcebook Available to everyone

Internet Global History Sourcebook Available to everyone

Internet Indian History Sourcebook Available to everyone

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook Available to everyone

Internet Jewish History Sourcebook Available to everyone

Internet History of Science Sourcebook Available to everyone

Internet Women’s History Sourcebook Available to everyone

People With a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans* History Available to everyone