Search website:
Libraries WSU
Introduction
Welcome to the research guide for Marketing and Entrepreneurship!

You'll find information on the best databases and library resources to assist you in your research. Many of these resources are freely available online; however, only WSU students, staff and faculty may access resources with the icon. Be sure to check the General Business Research Guide for additional resources. If you have any questions, please get in touch with your librarian via the contact information to the right.

Image by Editor5807 (Own work) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
All Items by Source

Databases (back to top)

ABI/INFORM Complete WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Some full text available Abstracts available http://library.wichita.edu/reference/images/PDF/ABI.pdf
Abstracts and some full-text articles from scholarly journals and trade publications in business and economics worldwide. Includes industry information, regional and national newspapers, and full-text access to the Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1971-current. View terms of use.  (Proquest)

Business Insights: Essentials WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Full text available
Provides information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.  (Gale)   View Terms of Use

Business Source Complete WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available Abstracts available
A scholarly business database providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.  View Terms of Use  (EBSCO)

The Conference Board WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
Full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Includes studies of Fortune 500 companies on business trends, corporate governance, ethics, human resources, operations, and productivity. Coverage: 1998-present.  View terms of use.

GreenFILE Available to everyone Full text available
Indexes and abstracts scholarly and popular periodicals as well as government documents and reports. Some full-text. Focuses on the way humans affect the environment. Topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.  (EBSCO)

Informe! (Revistas en Espanol) WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Full text available
Full-text access to popular Hispanic magazines with title annotations in both English and Spanish. Includes a thesaurus and interface designed for Spanish-speaking users.  View terms of use.  (Gale)

LexisNexis Academic WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Full text available http://library.wichita.edu/reference/images/PDF/LexisNexisAcademic.pdf
Full-text articles from thousands of newspapers, periodicals, business and legal sources. Business info includes company, financial, market research, and industry reports. Legal info includes federal and state case law, statutes, and law reviews. Worldwide news sources include the New York Times, CNN, The Economist, AP, and NPR.

Mergent WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Some full text available
Full-text financial and other information on U.S. and international companies. Also provides access to EDGAR SEC filings; D&B Private Company Data; Industry Reports; D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company Database; and D&B 20 Million Plus Corporate Family Tree.  Coverage: latest 15 years. 25 simultaneous users.  View terms of use.

Proquest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight) WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Full text available
Indexes and abstracts statistical data produced by federal, state, and local governments, professional and trade organizations, and universities. Also, provides full-text access to actual statistical tables and spreadsheets.  View terms of use.

ReferenceUSA WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
A provider of consumer and business research; ReferenceUSA aids in creating marketing plans, conducting competitive analysis, raising funds, and locating people.  It includes two databases:  U.S. Businesses and U.S. New Businesses. 

SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network) WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Some full text available Abstracts available http://www.sbrnet.com/tutorial.asp
Full-text news and market research on all facets of the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. Includes a complete directory of U.S. and Canadian college sports programs with links to over 10,000 sports organizations. Includes full-text articles and industry statistics.

Small Business Reference Center WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
Provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
Online access to Standard & Poor's industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more.  View terms of use.

Government Information (back to top)

Kansas.gov Available to everyone
The official website of the State of Kansas.

NTIS WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Some full text available Abstracts available
Citations and abstracts of periodical articles, U.S. and foreign technical reports, patents, data files, etc. that report the latest U.S. government sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, and engineering information. National Technical Information Service. Coverage: 1990-present. View terms of use.  (Proquest)

Newspapers (back to top)

NewsBank WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers: Emporia Gazette (2002-  ), Kansas City Star (1991-  )Lawrence Journal-World (1990-  ), Manhattan Mercury (1997-  ), Topeka Capital-Journal (2002-  ) and Wichita Eagle (1984-   ).

Wall Street Journal (via Proquest) WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available http://proquest.umi.com/i-std/en/nat/searchresults.htm

Full-text access from 1984-present.

Wichita Eagle (via NewsBank) WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only
Full-text access from 1984-present.

Reference Sources (back to top)

A Dictionary of Business and Management WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
Contains 7,000 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. Written by a team of experts, it features the very latest terminology, for example, the recent vocabulary associated with structured finance and the associated subprime lending crisis, including collaterized debt obligation and special purpose vehicle.

Dictionary of Statistics WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Full text available
Contains entries on all aspects of statistics including terms used in computing, mathematics, operational research, and probability, as well as biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field, and coverage of statistical journals and societies. It embraces the whole multi-disciplinary spectrum of this complex subject, and will be invaluable for students and professionals from a wide range of disciplines, including politics, market research, medicine, psychology, pharmaceuticals, and mathematics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library WSU Faculty, Staff & Students only Link to full text Full text available
Collection of ebook reference works in all disciplines including multivolume encyclopedias, biographical directories, business plan handbooks, consumer health references, dictionaries, etc. View terms of use. (Gale)

Finding SIC/NAICS Codes
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) was adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. NAICS is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies to identify industries. Many sources provide information based on these codes.

If you are having trouble determining the NAICS code for an industry, but know a company that is part of that industry, you can use one of the sources below to help you determine the appropriate industry code.

NOTE: The codes themselves are an accepted standard, but the assigning of codes to companies is not centralized or standardized.

Publicly available websites provide information on SIC and NAICS codes:

Research databases* that provide SIC and NAICS codes:

Correspondence/Conversion Tables:

Additional Resources on NAICS and SIC Codes

*Research databases are restricted to WSU students, faculty, and staff.

Company Information in LexisNexis
This video shows you how to look up individual companies in LexisNexis Academic, and how to conduct searches for lists of companies based on certain criteria. (Note: LexisNexis Academic is limited to WSU faculty, students, and staff)