Search website:
Libraries WSU
1  3  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W  [all]
Search for databases by keyword
View Databases by Subject   View Research Guides

Full List
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Digital facsimile images of full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. Each issue is captured cover-to-cover with access to every article, advertisement and illustration. Alternate title:  Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers.  View terms of use.  (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
19th Century UK Periodicals

19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.  View terms of use.  (Gale)


Unrestricted Resource
Full text
Help Guide
3M Cloud Library
A collection of ebooks made available by the State Library of Kansas.  A Kansas Library Card is required for access.  WSU Students, Faculty, and Staff can obtain a Kansas Library Card from the Circulation desk in Ablah Library.  (Kansas EZ Library)

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Index
AAPG Datapages
Online access to geological publications of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG). Provided through an endowment established by Thornton E. Anderson, Wichita State University (B.A., Geology, 1947) in honor of Professor Walter A. Ver Weibe, Ph.D.  View terms of use.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
ABI/INFORM Complete
Abstracts and some full-text articles from scholarly journals and trade publications in business and economics worldwide. Includes industry information, regional and national newspapers, and full-text access to the Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1971-current. View terms of use.  (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
Academic OneFile
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources as well as audio files from NPR and other news programs. Comprehensive and multidisciplinary. Coverage: 1980-present.  View terms of use.  (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Abstracts
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.   View Terms of Use   (EBSCO)  
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
AccessScience
Features content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. It gives access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.  Includes Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, illustrations and graphics, and biographies of well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography®      (McGraw-Hill)

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Full-text collection of over 1500 books in the Humanities from the American Council of Learned Societies. Formerly ACLS History E-Book Project.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
ACM Digital Library
Full-text access to the journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings published by the Association of Computing Machinery. Includes all backfiles. View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
ACS Web Editions / Archives
Online access to journals published by the American Chemical Society. Coverage: 1879-present.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Aerospace Database
Comprehensive engineering and technology information resource providing worldwide bibliographic coverage of published and unpublished scientific and technical literature. Indexes over 1,600 periodicals worldwide. Coverage: 1986-present.   View terms of use.  (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Provides online access to newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.  It features approximately 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.  Part of the Archive of Americana collection.   (Readex)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
AIAA Electronic Library
Full-text  meeting papers of the American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics. Coverage: 1996-present. AIAA papers are fully indexed in Aerospace Database. The library holds complete microfiche access to AIAA papers back to 1986.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Abstracts
Index
Alternative Health Watch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It includes full text articles for more than 180 international journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.  This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990.  (EBSCO)    View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text coverage of early American newspapers from all 50 states. Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876); Early American Newspapers, Series II (1758-1900); and Early American Newspapers, Series III (1829-1922). Part of the Archive of Americana collection.  (Readex)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
America: History and Life
Indexes and abstracts articles in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in U.S. and Canadian history. Also indexes essays, books, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage: 1964-present.  View terms of use.   (Ebsco)  6 simultaneous users.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
American State Papers, 1789-1838
Full-text access to legislative and executive documents of Congress from 1789-1838. Arranged by topic: Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs, Finances, Commerce and Navigation, Military Affairs, Naval Affairs, Post Office Department, Public Lands, Claims, and Miscellaneous.  Part of the Archive of Americana collection.  (Readex)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Index
American West Digital Collection
Digital archive of sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.  (Adam Matthew Digital)  View Terms of Use
Special Note:  Access to this resource is provided through the generous support of the Betty Holmer and Leo O. and Maud Swaim Morgan families.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Abstracts
Anthropology Plus
Indexes articles, essays, and chapters from journals, serials, and edited works in all fields of  anthropology. Compiled by the Tozzer Library at Harvard University. Coverage: Late 19th century-present. 10 simultaneous users shared with KSU & KU.  View terms of use. (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
APA Books E-Collections

Electronic access to the full text of APA-published scholarly and professional books* in PDF format.  View terms of use.    (American Psychological Association)


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Index
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.  (EBSCO)  View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
ARBA Online
Quality reviews of print and electronic reference works. Coverage: 1997-present. (Derived from the authoritative print resource, American Reference Books Annual.)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Index
ArchiveGrid
An index to historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the world.  Entries include collection descriptions and contact information.   (OCLC)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Archives Unbound
Provides primary, unpublished archival documents presented as topically-focused digital collections of historical documents which cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.  The collections included are:  Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project and Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880  View terms of use.  (Gale)

 


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Art Full Text
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from art periodicals published worldwide. Includes reproductions of works of art and books reviews. Coverage of indexing: 1984-present; full-text: 1997-present. (Combine with Art Index Retrospective to extend coverage back to 1929.)   (EBSCO)    View terms of use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Index
Art Index Retrospective
Provides citations to articles in art periodicals, yearbooks, and museum publications including reproductions of works of art and book reviews. Coverage: 1929-1984. (Combine with Art Full Text to extend coverage to the present.) (EBSCO)    View terms of use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
ArticleFirst
Index of articles from the table of contents pages of journals in business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social sciences, and technology. Dates covered: 1990-present. (OCLC)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Help Guide
ASM Handbooks Online
Features the complete content of twenty-five ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. View terms of use.  (ASM International)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Abstracts
ASTM International Standards and Engineering Digital Library
The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. It covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.    View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Auto Repair Reference Center
A collection of automobile repair reference information and contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis. All of the content in ARRC has been created by ASE certified technicians.  (EBSCO)  View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Biography Reference Bank
Full-text biographical articles on people in the news and history-makers covering over 246,000 individuals with more than 36,000 images from a variety of sources. Previously known as Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated. (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Help Guide
BioOne
Full-text articles from research journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Abstracts
Help Guide
BIOSIS Previews
Indexes and abstracts over 9,000 journals in all of the biological and life sciences -- including biomedical and biotechnology. Coverage: 1988-present.   View terms of use.  (Thomson) Special Note: Access to this resource was provided by the Estate of Evelyn D. Cassat, Abilene, Kansas
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Book Collection Non-Fiction
Contains informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Book Review Digest Plus
Reviews of English language fiction and nonfiction books for adults and children in periodicals published in the United States, Canada and Great Britain. Coverage: 1983-present.   (EBSCO) View terms of use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Business Abstracts with Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles from English language periodicals including leading business magazines and trade and research journals with some full text. Coverage of indexing: 1982-present; full-text: 1995-present. (EBSCO)  View terms of use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Business Insights: Essentials
Provides information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.  (Gale)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Abstracts
Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.  View Terms of Use  (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Cabell's Business Directories
Provides information on business journals most likely to publish a given manuscript, how to organize and prepare the manuscript, and a description of the review process of each journal. 
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Cabell's Educational Directories
Provides information on education journals most likely to publish a given manuscript, how to organize and prepare the manuscript, and a description of the review process of each journal.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Cabell's Psychology Directories
Provides information on psychology journals most likely to publish a given manuscript, how to organize and prepare the manuscript, and a description of the review process of each journal.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD)
Repository of  small molecule crystal structures with bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal organic compounds. Includes software for search, retrieval, structure visualization, and database creation.  View Terms of Use.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)
A collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominet museums.  It highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covers the complete range of expressive forms.  Images may be used by WSU students and faculty for educational and research purposes, if they are properly credited.(OCLC)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Campus Research
A college edition of a database commonly used by lawyers that includes U.S. and state cases, U.S. and state statutes and regulations, U.S. Supreme Court briefs, National Labor Board and Federal Labor administrative materials, two legal encyclopedias, dozens of law reviews and journals, plus selected European Union legal materials. Call 1-800-733-2889 for free search help from Westlaw's reference attorneys.   View terms of use.  (Westlaw)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Career Insider (formerly Vault)
Comprehensive online career resource with information on over 3,000 companies and 70 industries. Includes collections of more than 80 career guides, employer profiles, and company-specific message boards for employees. 
Unrestricted Resource
Some full text
Abstracts
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Indexes print and electronic publications created by Federal agencies. Provides links to full-text, when available. Coverage: 1994-present. (GPO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
The CLCD database is an acquisition, research and reference service that offers more than 2 million award-winning books, curriculum tools and lists and more than 400,000 reviews of children's books–all full text searchable from 40 review sources.  (CLCD)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Index
CINAHL Complete
Provides indexing for more than 5,300 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains records dating back to 1937.  It covers the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.  30 simultaneous users (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Clase and Periodica
Index of Latin American journals in the social sciences, sciences, technology, and humanities. Provides access to bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English languages. Dates of coverage: Clase: 1975-present & Periodica: 1978-present. (OCLC)  
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
Cochrane Library
Collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Includes systematic reviews, methods, studies, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials. View terms of use.  (Wiley)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
ComDisDome
ComDisDome is an index to over 800 books, 125 journals, 5,000 dissertations, and hundreds of web resources in the fields of audiology and speech-language pathology.  Coverage dates back to the 1960's.  View terms of use.  (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Abstracts
Index
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides research in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Compendex
Citations and abstracts of articles from thousands of journals, conference proceeedings, and technical reports covering all areas of engineering. Coverage: 1969-present.  View terms of use.   (Ei Engineering Village)
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
Help Guide
CompuStat
Database of financial, statistical and market information on active and inactive companies worldwide with data on over 90,000 global securities. Accessed via WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services). Coverage: last 20 years.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Abstracts
Index
Computer Source
Provides the latest information and current trends in high technology. This database offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Conference Board
Full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Includes studies of Fortune 500 companies on business trends, corporate governance, ethics, human resources, operations, and productivity. Coverage: 1998-present.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Consumer Health Complete
Provides consumer-oriented health content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. . It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. Includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Help Guide
CQ Researcher
In-depth single-topic reports on "hot" issues in the news with a U.S. focus. Each report covers all sides of every issue with numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles (plus pro-con feature, chronology, lengthy bibliographies and list of contacts) Coverage: 1991-present. View terms of use.  (CQ Press)   5 simultaneous users.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Index
Credo Reference
Over 400 reference titles from over 70 publishers covering every major subject.  Seamless searching of Credo Reference sources, the WSU Libraries Catalog, and other Libraries subscribed databases.  View terms of use.   Video tour of Credo Reference:  Click here 
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Abstracts
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected with coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Dance in Video
Contains 500 hours of productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Included are classic performances from top ballet companies; experimental works from up-and-coming dance troupes; documentaries by and about leading choreographers; videos on dance training; and other items covering a wide range of 20th century dance styles.  (Alexander Street Press)  View Terms of Use

Note:  Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund : 2012.


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Index
Help Guide
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Citations and abstracts of articles, news items, and reviews in design, applied arts, and crafts periodicals. Covers both new designers and the development of design and applied arts since the mid-19th century. Coverage: 1973-present.  View terms of use.   (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Database of over 200,000 organic compounds with identifying information, numerical and physical data, descriptions, references and structural information. Ability to perform text and substructure searches. Based on Chapman & Hall Chemical Database. (WaveFunction)  Only available on CD-ROM at Chemistry Library in 127 McKinley Hall, 316-978-3764.

Unrestricted Resource
Index
Directory of Published Proceedings (DoPP)
Indexes over 40,000 published conference proceedings, meetings, and symposia in engineering, humanities, medicine, science, social sciences and technology. Coverage: 1994-present. (InterDok)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Dissertations & Theses @ Wichita State University
Digital library of dissertations and theses from Wichita State University. The database includes selected WSU dissertations and theses in electronic format from 1968 to May 2007. Formerly known as Current Research.  View terms of use.  (ProQuest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
EBL (Ebook Library)
A collection of ebooks purchased by WSU Libraries.  The latest version of Adobe Digital Editions must be installed to download an ebook.  Items are checked out for one day.  View terms of use.

Note:  You will be required to login with your myWSUid and password to access this collection.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Index
eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)
Over 7,000 reference and other e-books in all subject areas purchased and shared with libraries in Kansas and eleven other states as well as a public collection of nearly 4,000 e-books that are in the public domain. View terms of use.  (EBSCO)

Information on how to create an account, click here.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
ebrary
A collection of ebooks purchased by WSU Libraries.  Items can be viewed using the ebrary Reader or online.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
EBSCOhost Web
This is a set of EBSCOhost databases that are available to WSU faculty, staff, and students. See individual database descriptions under each title. 
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
ECO (Electronic Collections Online)
Limited collection of scholarly e-journals, generally with coverage from 1995-present.  View terms of use.  (OCLC)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Abstracts
EconLit
the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. The database contains more than 1,010,900 records from 1969-present. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.  4 simultaneous users.  (Ebsco)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2008

A complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.  View terms of use.  (Gale)


Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Abstracts
Index
Education Full Text
Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals, books, and yearbooks in the field of education. Full text articles from hundreds of journals. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1996-present. (EBSCO)   View terms of use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Educator's Reference Complete
Provides a selection of full-text academic journals, full-text reports, and many premier reference sources. Included content focuses on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.  View Terms of Use  (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. Access to full-text of millions of pages of  critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.  (Gale)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Full-text access to Encyclopedia Britannica and Book of the Year articles. Includes Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Ergonomics Abstracts Online
A unique resource, providing coverage across the whole range of ergonomics, human factors, and related literature. The print source for Ergonomics Abstracts is the international journal Ergonomics Abstracts which has been in publication since 1968. The material is selected from relevant journals, conference proceedings, reports and books. The second issue of Ergonomics Abstracts contains all records, over 45,000, published by the journal Ergonomics Abstracts between 1986 and 1995.  (EBSCO)    View Terms of Use

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Index
ERIC (EBSCO)
The Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.  (EBSCO)  View Terms of Use
Unrestricted Resource
Abstracts
ERIC (Official Dept. of Education Website)
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
ERIC (Proquest)
Core database in education with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, research reports, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Coverage: 1966-present. View terms of use.  (Proquest)
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
Ethnographic Video Online
Global in scope, it provides over 800 online videos for the visual study of human culture and behavior.   Includes classic and contemporary documentories, previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers, and slect feature films.  Field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, etc. are included wherever possible.   (Alexander Street Press)  View Terms of Use
Note:  Ethnographic Video Online is made available to users of the Wichita State University Libraries by the Department of Anthropology through the generous support of the David and Sally Jackman Endowment Fund and the University Libraries.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Europa World Year Book
A source of information on world-wide affairs.  First published in 1926, the year book covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.  4 simultaneous users  (Taylor & Francis)
Unrestricted Resource
Index
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
An index of European works that relate to the Americas.  It is a guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.  It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.  A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.   (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Unrestricted Resource
Help Guide
Eventus
Software for financial research, education and consulting that performs state-of-the-art event study estimation and testing using the CRSP stock database or other stock return data. Accessed via WRDS. View terms of use.  (Wharton Research Data Services).

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Expanded Academic ASAP
General database that indexes scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images -- across all disciplines.  View terms of use.  (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
FinancePro
Provides immediate access to financial and accounting information on new laws, regulations and standards.  Access hundreds of titles covering numerous financial topics.   2 simultaneous users  (Books24x7)  View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Abstracts
FirstSearch
FirstSearch databases available to WSU students, faculty, and staff. Including ArticleFirst, Clase and Periodica, ECO, OAIster, PapersFirst, Proceedings First, World Almanac, WorldCat, WorldCat Dissertations, and others. [See each title for individual database description] (OCLC)  
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
FirstSearch (WSU Faculty/Staff Only)
Several FirstSearch databases available on a "per-search" basis to WSU faculty and staff only including  Clase Periodica, Ebooks, and ECO.  (OCLC)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Fuente Academica
Offers more than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology  (EBSCO)  View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Gale Cengage Learning
Set of Gale databases available to WSU faculty, staff, and students. For database descriptions, see individual titles. 
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Collection of ebook reference works in all disciplines including multivolume encyclopedias, biographical directories, business plan handbooks, consumer health references, dictionaries, etc. View terms of use. (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
General OneFile
A source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. (Gale)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
General Science Full Text
Citations and abstracts of articles in nearly 300 periodicals in the life sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences. Includes some full-text articles. Coverage of indexing: 1984-present; full-text: 1995-present. (EBSCO)   View terms of use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
GeoRef
Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, is a geosciences database containing over 3.3 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world.  Among the subjects covered are:  environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and coverage dates back to 1933 for the rest of the world.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
GeoRef in Process
Contains unedited records that are still in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. Some of the records originate from older, non-English language literature while other, more current records are simply not yet complete. Because they are unedited, In Process records may lack a few fields or contain minimal data in some fields. This database is intended as a supplement to the main GeoRef database.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Index
Global Books in Print
Contains over 1,350,190 active titles and over 1,433,700 active ISBNs published by 57,600 United States publishers of all types of books covering all topics. Only 1 simultaneous user.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
Google Scholar
Provides access to scholarly sources across many disciplines including articles, theses, books, etc. from a variety of publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Links to full-text when available.
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
GPO Access
Full-text access to information and publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Coverage: generally from 1994-present. 
Unrestricted Resource
Abstracts
Index
GPO Monthly Catalog
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. Coverage: 1976-present.  (GPO) 
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
GreenFILE
Indexes and abstracts scholarly and popular periodicals as well as government documents and reports. Some full-text. Focuses on the way humans affect the environment. Topics range from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.  (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)
This database focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development. Portals include authoritative analysis, academic journals, news, case studies, legislation, conference proceedings, primary source documents, statistics, and rich multimedia.  View Terms of Use  (Gale)

Unrestricted Resource
Full text
Abstracts
HathiTrust
A growing partnership of over 70 libraries and research institutions, primarily university libraries, pooling their resources to create a digital library. The primary goals are long-term preservation of fragile collections, along with methods for making these records more readily accessible while still respecting in-copyright works.  While WSU faculty, staff, and students can search across the entire digital library, they have full-text access to only the items in the Public Collections.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Health and Wellness Resource Center (includes Alternative Health Module)
Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from health/medical journals, general interest periodicals, pamphlets, videos, and reference encyclopedias and directories. Also includes links to health assessment sites and government databases. Coverage: 1980-present. View terms of use.  (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Health Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.  View Terms of Use  (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Health Source: Consumer Edition
A collection of consumer health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. It provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Abstracts
HeritageQuest
American genealogical and historical sources including U.S. Federal Censuses, genealogy and local history books, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank Records, and LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set. Coverage dates back to the 1700s.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Abstracts
Historical Statistics of the United State (HSUS)
Provides the numerical history of the United States and contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert.  (Cambridge)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
History Reference Center
Provides full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Humanities Full Text
The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more. Coverage dates:  Indexing 1984+, Abstracting 1984+, “select” Full Text 1994+  (EBSCO)   View terms of use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Help Guide
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Largest archive of political and social research data with over 500,000 datafiles. Includes specialized data collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.  (University of Michigan)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
IEEE Xplore
Access to the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) which includes full-text access to all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) journals, transactions, conference proceedings, and standards. Coverage: 1988-present, with selected content to 1893.

View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
IEEE-MIT Press eBooks Library - Computing and Engineering Collection
eBooks content in computer science and engineering in the IEEE Xplore® digital library. More than 450 titles in fields including computer science, artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering.  Providing access to more than 450 titles, including cutting-edge titles focusing on scientific and technological innovations.  View Terms of Use  (IEEE) 
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library
eBooks in cutting-edge technologies and includes practical handbooks, introductory and advanced texts, reference works, and professional books.  Subjects covered include: bioengineering; communication, networking & broadcasting; computing & processing; general topics for engineers; geoscience; signal processing & analysis; and robotics.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Informe! (Revistas en Espanol)
Full-text access to popular Hispanic magazines with title annotations in both English and Spanish. Includes a thesaurus and interface designed for Spanish-speaking users.  View terms of use.  (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Infotrac Newsstand
A full-text database which allows searching of more than 1,000 newspapers by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields.   View Terms of Use  (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Index
IOPscience
Online access to all journal content hosted by IOP (Institute of Physics) Publishing. Includes more than 60 titles in science and engineering. Coverage: 1874-present.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
ITPro
Provides in-depth insight into the most current technologies, programs and practices for elevated strategic decision-making and evaluation. It offers the complete, unabridged contents of thousands of books, documents and other reference materials that span the spectrum of technology topics.  2 simultaneous users  (Books24x7)  View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Index
Journal Citation Reports
A comprehensive resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals. It includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences and can show you the most frequently cited journals in a field, highest impact journals in a field, and largest journals in a field.  View terms of use.  (Thomson Reuters)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
JSTOR
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.   View terms of use.
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
Kansas EZ Library
Kansas EZ Library (formerly OverDrive) is the new name for Kansas’ econtent access point, which includes audiobooks (OneClick Digital) and ebooks (3M Cloud Library). Brought to you by the State Library of Kansas.  A Kansas Library card is required.  WSU students, faculty, and staff can obtain the Kansas Library card at the Ablah Library Circulation Desk.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Knovel
Digital versions of leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. Includes analytical tools that help retrieve numeric and other tabular data contained in interactive graphs, equations and tables.   View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Learning Express Library
Online access to skill-building interactive courses in math, reading, and writing, as well as hundreds of interactive practice exams for grade school achievement tests, SAT, ACT, GED, U.S. citizenship, civil service positions, and a range of academic and career tests.

Note:  To access, you will need to create a user name and password.  You will then use this user name and password for future logins.  To create your user name and password:  1) Click on the link above.  2) Click on the "Register" button under the "new Users" section at the bottom of the page.  3)  Enter your 5-digit zip code in the Username field plus your 7-digit phone number (excluding your zip code, spaces, or dashes).  [For example:  672609781234].  4) Create a password  (passwords must be at least 6 characters long, they can be alphanumeric but cannot contain spaces).  5) Vefify your password.  6) Email address is optional but is recommended for password retrieval in the event you forget your username or password.  7)  Click the "Register" button.  8)  Choose "Kansas State Library" as your subscribing insitution.  9)  Click the "Continue" button. 
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Help Guide
LegalTrac
Citations to articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers. View terms of use.  (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Help Guide
LexisNexis Academic
Full-text articles from thousands of newspapers, periodicals, business and legal sources. Business info includes company, financial, market research, and industry reports. Legal info includes federal and state case law, statutes, and law reviews. Worldwide news sources include the New York Times, CNN, The Economist, AP, and NPR.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses.  Includes some full-text publications.  Coverage for indexing:  1984-present; full text:  1994-present (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Unrestricted Resource
Index
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings in library and information science. Coverage: mid-1960s-present. (Ebsco)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Literary Reference Center
A full-text database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.   (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Literature Online (LION)
Full-text library of poetry and prose fiction from almost every period and genre of English literature. Includes full-text literary criticism and reference sources. Coverage: 7th century-present. 4 simultaneous users.  View terms of use.  (ProQuest)  
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Literature Resource Center (LRC)
Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world. 5 simultaneous users.  View terms of use.  (Gale)

Unrestricted Resource
Full text
Mango Languages
Courses in over 40 languages (basic & complete lessons available), along with a computerized translation resource. Creating a username and password is optional, but doing so will allow you to pick up where you left off between learning sessions.  Learn about the mobile app here.  (Mango)

Note:  In state access only.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Abstracts
Help Guide
MathSciNet
Abstracts from journals, conference proceedings and proceedings papers, books or chapters, advanced-level textbooks, and published dissertations in mathematics and related fields.  Coverage: 1940-present. (American Mathematical Society)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
MedicLatina
A Spanish language database of  full text of 130 peer-reviewed medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.  (EBSCO)    View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Index
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, Searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
MEDLINE (Proquest)
Provides citations and abstracts for over 4,800 journals published worldwide in the life sciences with an emphasis on medicine and health. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings.) Coverage: 2000-present. (Proquest)  
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
MEDLINE (Thomson)
Citations and abstracts for over 4,800 journals published worldwide in the life sciences with an emphasis on medicine and health. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Searchable using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). Coverage: 1950-present.  View terms of use.  (Thomson)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership. Produced by Buros Institute, University of Nebraska. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.  Coverage: 1988-present. 4 simultaneous users.  View terms of use. (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Mergent
Full-text financial and other information on U.S. and international companies. Also provides access to EDGAR SEC filings; D&B Private Company Data; Industry Reports; D&B 20 Million Plus Private Company Database; and D&B 20 Million Plus Corporate Family Tree.  Coverage: latest 15 years. 25 simultaneous users.  View terms of use.
Unrestricted Resource
Index
Mind: The Meetings Index
Indexes conferences, congresses, meetings, and symposia in the life and physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. (Interdok)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Index
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Presents detailed information on more than 7,100 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, with 4,400 currently indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. The entries list editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, and submission guidelines.  (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
MLA International Bibliography
Citations to articles in journals and book series as well as working papers and proceedings in literature, language, linguistics, and literary criticism in all languages. Book reviews not included. Produced by Modern Language Association. Coverage: 1926-present. View terms of use.  (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Index
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Provides access to citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film since 1963. Special features include the full text of the original article for some citations and a collection of images consisting of photographs, maps, and flags.  (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
Help Guide
Music Index Online
Citations to periodical articles, book reviews, and dissertations in music. Coverage: 1979-present. (Ebsco) 
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Music Online
Provides access to streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web.  It cross searches American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.  (Alexander Street Press)  View Terms of Use
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
National Academies Press

The National Academies—National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council—now provide free access to PDFs of reports that are currently for sale on the National Academies Press (NAP) Website and PDFs associated with future reports* to all Web visitors.  (NAP)


Unrestricted Resource
Some full text
Abstracts
Index
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (NCJRS)
Summaries of over 200,000 U.S. and international publications, including government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and audiovisual presentations related to criminal and juvenile justice, substance abuse, and drug control. Coverage: 1970-present. (NCJRS)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Index
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (Proquest)
NCJRS includes summaries of over 200,000 U.S. and international publications, including government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and audiovisual presentations related to criminal and juvenile justice, substance abuse, and drug control. Coverage: 1970-present. View terms of use. (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
Naxos Music Library
Largest online classical music library with streaming access to over 45,000 CDs. Includes composer and artist biographies and comprehensive liner notes.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
Help Guide
Naxos Sheet Music Library
Online sheet music with over 45,000 works available for instant download and printing.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
NewsBank
Current full-text access to six Kansas newspapers: Emporia Gazette (2002-  ), Kansas City Star (1991-  )Lawrence Journal-World (1990-  ), Manhattan Mercury (1997-  ), Topeka Capital-Journal (2002-  ) and Wichita Eagle (1984-   ).
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles, and features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.  Current collections include:  British Politics and Society; Asia and the West:  Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Theatre, Music, and Literature:  High and Popular CultureCorvey Collection of European Literature:  1790-1840; Europe and Africa:  Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest; Photography: the World Through the Lense; Science, Technology and Medicine: 1780-1925; and Women: Transnational Networks.  (Gale)  View Terms of Use 

Note:  A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
NoveList Plus
A readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction. (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
NTIS
Citations and abstracts of periodical articles, U.S. and foreign technical reports, patents, data files, etc. that report the latest U.S. government sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, and engineering information. National Technical Information Service. Coverage: 1990-present. View terms of use.  (Proquest)

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
OAIster
Catalog of digital resources from open archive collections. Representing multidisiplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide. Resources include theses, technical reports, books, articles, audio, images, movies, and datasets. (OCLC)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
OCLC Electronic Books
Index of electronic books cataloged by OCLC members.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
OmniFile Full Text Mega
Citations, abstracts, and some full text articles from journals included in several EBSCO full-text databases: Business, Education, General Science, Humanities, Readers' Guide, and Social Sciences. Coverage: 1982-present. (EBSCO)   View terms of use
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
OneClick Digital
A variety of audio books available for download (fiction and non-fiction) to your computer and many portable devices.  Open to Kansas residents only (this includes current WSU students, faculty, and staff) and must have the Kansas State Library Card which can be obtained at the Circulation Desk in Ablah Library.  Tutorials, FAQs, and Help are also available.  (Kansas EZ Library)

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
A collection of content for expoloration into social issues froma ll perspectives.  Providing pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, podcasts, primary source documents, and more.  View Terms of Use (Gale)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
OvidSP Journals
Two databases that contain full text journals:  WSUFullTextJournals@Ovid and Journals@Ovid.  WSUFullText is a subset of the larger Journals@Ovid database that is limited to only the journals to which WSU subscribes.  Journals@Ovid provides access to the tables of contents, bibliographic citations, abstracts, and references in the entire database.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Oxford Art Online
Online version of the comprehensive art reference work -- Oxford Dictionary of Art (formerly Grove Dictionary of Art). Covers all visual arts from prehistory to the present. (OUP)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Oxford English Dictionary
Online edition of accepted authority and guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language. Provides comprehensive etymological analysis and listing of variant spellings while tracing the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations. (OUP)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Oxford History of Western Music
Offers a narrative account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin. This landmark study has received universal acclaim and major awards in the field.  2 simultaneous users.  (Oxford)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Features comprehensive bilingual dictionaries and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Offering words, phrases and translations in French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, and Chinese, OLDO also features native speaker audio pronunciation - allowing you to hear how words actually sound! 
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Oxford Medicine Online
A collection of online medical resources which cover every stage in a medical career, from resources for medical and nursing students to those for senior doctors and consultants.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Oxford Music Online
Online version of  The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed.). Formerly Grove Music Online. (OUP)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Full-text to dictionaries, reference books, and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press in a broad range of subjects: general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and Business. 4 simultaneous users. (OUP)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
PAIS Archive
Indexes monographs, periodical articles, notes, and announcements on 20th century public and social policies and issues. Produced by Public Affairs Information Service. Coverage: 1915-1976. View terms of use.  (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
PAIS International Database
Indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports; directories, etc. published worldwide in social and public policy. Produced by Public Affairs Information Service. Coverage: 1972-present.  4 simultaneous users. View terms of use.  (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Index
PapersFirst
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. It covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Dates of coverage: 1993-present. (OCLC)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
Philosopher's Index
Indexes articles in all areas of philosophy such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and metaphysics as well as the philosophy of various disciplines such as education, history, law, religion, and science.  Coverage: 1940-present.  View terms of use.   (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
PILOTS Database
Citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Coverage: 1871-present. View terms of use.  (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
ProceedingsFirst
Index of worldwide conference proceedings covering every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Coverage dates: 1993-present. (OCLC)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Help Guide
Project MUSE
Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
ProQuest
Provides access to ProQuest databases available to WSU faculty, staff, and students. See individual database descriptions under each title. 
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Proquest Congressional
Citations and abstracts of congressional publications, legislative histories, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data. Includes full-text of key regulatory and statutory resources.  Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2009) with Index (1851-1993)
Provides access to the New York Times online for the years 1851-2009. This database offers full-page-images and article images. Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.  (Proquest)

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Citations and abstracts of articles in more than 800 journals covering nursing, allied health, alternative medicine, etc. Full-text access to over 700 journal titles and 12,000 dissertations. Coverage: 1986-present. View terms of use.  (Proquest)

Click here to browse a list of video training resources.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Proquest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis Statistical Insight)
Indexes and abstracts statistical data produced by federal, state, and local governments, professional and trade organizations, and universities. Also, provides full-text access to actual statistical tables and spreadsheets.  View terms of use.

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Index
PsycARTICLES
From the American Psychological Association (APA), this is a source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.  It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.  (EBSCO)  Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Index
PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.  It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s.  Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Terms of Use  (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
PsycTESTS
A repository of ready-to-use tests and measures from the APA.  International in scope, this resource provides access to thousands of actual test instruments relevant to psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, education, medicine, business, social work and more, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.  A source of structured information about tests and while focused on contemporary instances of test use, has coverage that spans more than a century.  View Terms of Use  (EBSCO) 
 
Unrestricted Resource
Some full text
Abstracts
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text from thousands of biomedical journals published worldwide in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences. Coverage: 1966-present.  Using this link to PubMed will provide links to WSU Library subscribed full text resources.  (National Library of Medicine)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
Readers' Guide Full Text
Indexes and abstracts general periodicals with some full-text access. Focus on current events and curriculum support. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1994-present. (EBSCO)   View terms of use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
ReferenceUSA
A provider of consumer and business research; ReferenceUSA aids in creating marketing plans, conducting competitive analysis, raising funds, and locating people.  It includes two databases:  U.S. Businesses and U.S. New Businesses. 
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.  (EBSCO)  View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
Research Library
Citations and abstracts of articles in thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in over 150 academic disciplines. Includes full-text access to over half of the journals. Coverage: 1971-present.  View terms of use.  (Proquest)  
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
RIA Checkpoint
Current and archival tax and financial research information with primary tax documents and secondary analysis for federal, state, and local taxation; estate planning; international and payroll taxation. Includes Federal Tax Coordinator and selected WG&L treatises. View terms of use.  (Thomson)

Note:  To access folders, you must register for an account.  Instructions to do this can be found by clicking here.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Help Guide
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations on traditional, popular, and classical music and in disciplines such as musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, sociology, etc. Includes Web resources and audiovisual recordings.  View terms of use.  (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, This database is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.  Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, it provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.  (Gale)  View Terms of Use

Note:  Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund : 2013.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
SAGE Journals Online
Online access to journals published by SAGE Publications in a broad range of disciplines including business, humanities, medicine, social sciences, science and technology.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
SAGE Reference Online
Provides access to the SAGE 2011 Encyclopedia Collection and the 2011 Handbook Collection.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Salem History
Provides complete content of printed reference sets in history including  Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century, Great Lives from History, and Historical Encyclopedia of American Business.  (Salem Press)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Salem Literature
Provides complete content of printed reference sets in literature including the Critical Survey of Long Fiction.  (Salem Press)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
Full-text news and market research on all facets of the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. Includes a complete directory of U.S. and Canadian college sports programs with links to over 10,000 sports organizations. Includes full-text articles and industry statistics.
Unrestricted Resource
Index
Help Guide
SciFinder
Provides citations to worldwide journal literature in chemical and biomedical sciences. Contains the structure and property information for over 25 million substances. Includes reaction searching. Coverage: 1907-present. Restricted to current WSU students, faculty, and staff.  (American Chemical Society)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
Scitation Index
Citations and abstracts to over two million journal and magazine articles in physics, chemistry, geosciences, engineering, acoustics and more. Also indexes conference proceedings, ebooks, standards, patents, and databases. (American Institute of Physics)
Unrestricted Resource
Index
Scitopia
Free gateway to the digital content of major scientific societies in aeronautics, engineering, mathematics, and physics. Provides citations to millions of documents from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, patents, and government documents. Coverage: 1874-present.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
Slavery and Anti-Slavery Collection
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement for the abolition of slavery from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century.  The collection includes - part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: the Institution of Slavery, and part IV: Emancipation.  It contains books, serials, manuscript collections, Supreme Court records and briefs, essays, biographies, bibliographies, and more.  (Gale)  View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Small Business Reference Center
Provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Unrestricted Resource
Some full text
SOAR (Shocker Open Access Repository)
SOAR (Shocker Open Access Repository) is the institutional repository of Wichita State University. The purpose of SOAR is to make the University's digital scholarship available to a global audience and serve as a reliable digital archive.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Social Sciences Full Text
Article citations and abstracts from over 600 periodicals and scholarly journals in all areas of the social sciences. Includes full-text access to some journals. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1995-present. 99 simultaneous users. (EBSCO)   View terms of use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 1,300 journals and other serial publications. Includes dissertations and book reviews. Focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1979-present.  View terms of use.   (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to literature in sociology & related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology.  Coverage:  1974 to the present.  View terms of use.  (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
Spanish Reference Center
This site offers resources in Spanish in two unique interfaces, each with its own comprehensive encyclopedia: Enciclopedia Moderna and Britannica Escolar Online.  (Britannica)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
SPIN - Searchable Physics Information Notices
Citations and abstracts of journals and proceedings from scientific societies in physics and astronomy. Slightly different set of titles than found in Scitation Index. SPIN and Scitation Index may be searched together using Scitation interface. (American Institute of Physics)

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, books, and magazines in sport, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, and related disciplines. Provides full-text access to over 500 journals dating back to 1985.   View terms of use.   (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
SpringerLink
Full-text access to journals and ebooks published by Springer. Includes titles in business, education, engineering, humanities, medicine, psychology, biological and physical sciences.
Also includes the 2011 Handbook Collection & 2011 Encyclopedia Collection.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Online access to Standard & Poor's industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more.  View terms of use.
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
STAT-USA
Economic statistics, international market research, and trade leads produced by hundreds of U.S. government agencies. IMPORTANT NOTICE: The STAT-USA website is no longer available as of Sept. 30, 2010. This link is to a transition webpage that links to the data sources and statistics previously compiled by STAT USA.
Unrestricted Resource
Index
Teacher Reference Center
A bibliographic index of teacher and administration trade journals, periodicals, & books.  It provides coverage on topics such as assessment, best practices, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, literacy standards, school administration, teacher education, and more.  (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Testing & Education Reference Center
Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries. Identify scholarships that meet their financial needs. Take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.  (Gale)  View Terms of Use
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
Help Guide
THOMAS Legislative
Provides Federal legislative information including summary and status information as well as full-text of House and Senate bills; full-text of daily edition of Congressional Record, Committee Reports; and historical documents. (Library of Congress)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
TOPICSearch
Contains full text for over 150,961 articles from 475 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's unparalleled collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.  (EBSCO)  View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
NewsBank offers reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes from 1817-1980.  Part of the Archive of Americana collection.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
Ulrichsweb.com
Authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 academic and scholarly journals, open access publications, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters and more from around the world. View terms of use.  (Proquest)

Please note: Depending on the browser being used, a "Security Alert" message may pop-up before you are taken to the Ulrichsweb website.  The Ulrichs' website is a secure site and requires a certificate to be sent by our server and due to how the certificate must be configured, the name on the certificate does not match the name of the site, which triggers the alert.  This does not mean the security on the computer has been negated so clicking "Yes" to proceed should be safe.  
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Value Line
Widely-read Investment service that collects data and analyzes the performance of approximately 8,000 stocks, 15,000 mutual funds, 80,000 options and other securities.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
VAST : Academic Video Online
This collection is designed to bring the highest-quality video content to the broadest range of subject areas:   architecture, art, Business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, LGBT studies, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theatre, women’s studies and more.  (Alexander Street Press)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Vocational & Career Collection
This collection provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.  (EBSCO)    View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Abstracts
Help Guide
Web of Science
Citations to articles in thousands of scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts/humanities. Also indexes cited references in all articles. Coverage: 1988-present.  View terms of use.   (Thomson) Special Note: Access to WoS was originally provided by the Estate of Evelyn D. Cassat, Abilene, KS
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Wiley Online Library
Provides online access to articles in over 350 Blackwell and Wiley journals. WSU Libraries does not subscribe to all journals in this package.  View terms of use.  (Formerly Wiley InterScience)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Women's Studies International
Indexes over 2,000 periodical sources in core disciplines in women's studies including sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Coverage: generally 1972-present. View terms of use.  (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
World Almanac
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia, The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, and The World Almanac for Kids. Coverage dates: 1998-present (OCLC)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Abstracts
Index
WorldCat
World's most comprehensive bibliography with over 40 million records of all types of materials (e.g. books, dissertations, manuscripts, serials, sound recordings, videos) cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Coverage:1200-present. (OCLC).
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
Index to all dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC member libraries, including Wichita State University. (OCLC)
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
Help Guide
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Service)
Internet-based business data research service from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Provides access to Compustat, Eventus, KLD Stats, and other business databases.  View terms of use.