Search website:
Libraries WSU
1  3  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W  [all]
Search for databases by keyword
View Databases by Subject   View Research Guides

S
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Based on Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana – A Dictionary of Books Relating to America From its Discovery to the Present Time, This database is a collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.  Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, it provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.  (Gale)  View Terms of Use

Note:  Access to this resource was provided by the Ablah Families Library Fund : 2013.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
SAGE Journals Online
Online access to journals published by SAGE Publications in a broad range of disciplines including business, humanities, medicine, social sciences, science and technology.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
SAGE Reference Online
Provides access to the SAGE 2011 Encyclopedia Collection and the 2011 Handbook Collection.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Salem History
Provides complete content of printed reference sets in history including  Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century, Great Lives from History, and Historical Encyclopedia of American Business.  (Salem Press)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Salem Literature
Provides complete content of printed reference sets in literature including the Critical Survey of Long Fiction.  (Salem Press)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
SBRnet (Sports Business Research Network)
Full-text news and market research on all facets of the sporting goods and sports marketing industry. Includes a complete directory of U.S. and Canadian college sports programs with links to over 10,000 sports organizations. Includes full-text articles and industry statistics.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
Help Guide
SciFinder
Provides citations to worldwide journal literature in chemical and biomedical sciences. Contains the structure and property information for over 25 million substances. Includes reaction searching. Coverage: 1907-present. Restricted to current WSU students, faculty, and staff.  (American Chemical Society)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
Scitation Index
Citations and abstracts to over two million journal and magazine articles in physics, chemistry, geosciences, engineering, acoustics and more. Also indexes conference proceedings, ebooks, standards, patents, and databases. (American Institute of Physics)
Unrestricted Resource
Index
Scitopia
Free gateway to the digital content of major scientific societies in aeronautics, engineering, mathematics, and physics. Provides citations to millions of documents from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, patents, and government documents. Coverage: 1874-present.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
Slavery and Anti-Slavery Collection
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement for the abolition of slavery from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century.  The collection includes - part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, and part III: the Institution of Slavery.  It contains books, serials, manuscript collections, Supreme Court records and briefs, essays, biographies, bibliographies, and more.  (Gale)  View Terms of Use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Small Business Reference Center
Provides up to date information on relevant topics from starting a company, operations management and sales to growing or rescuing a business. The database contains nearly 400 full-text periodicals and over 450 full-text reference books.  (EBSCO)   View Terms of Use
Unrestricted Resource
Some full text
SOAR (Shocker Open Access Repository)
SOAR (Shocker Open Access Repository) is the institutional repository of Wichita State University. The purpose of SOAR is to make the University's digital scholarship available to a global audience and serve as a reliable digital archive.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Social Sciences Full Text
Article citations and abstracts from over 600 periodicals and scholarly journals in all areas of the social sciences. Includes full-text access to some journals. Coverage of indexing: 1983-present; full-text: 1995-present. 99 simultaneous users. (EBSCO)   View terms of use
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 1,300 journals and other serial publications. Includes dissertations and book reviews. Focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1979-present.  View terms of use.   (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Some full text
Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to literature in sociology & related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology.  Coverage:  1974 to the present.  View terms of use.  (Proquest)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Index
Spanish Reference Center
This site offers resources in Spanish in two unique interfaces, each with its own comprehensive encyclopedia: Enciclopedia Moderna and Britannica Escolar Online.  (Britannica)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Index
SPIN - Searchable Physics Information Notices
Citations and abstracts of journals and proceedings from scientific societies in physics and astronomy. Slightly different set of titles than found in Scitation Index. SPIN and Scitation Index may be searched together using Scitation interface. (American Institute of Physics)

Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Some full text
Abstracts
Help Guide
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, books, and magazines in sport, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, and related disciplines. Provides full-text access to over 500 journals dating back to 1985. 4 simultaneous users.  View terms of use.   (EBSCO)
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
ArticleLinker enabled
Full text
SpringerLink
Full-text access to journals and ebooks published by Springer. Includes titles in business, education, engineering, humanities, medicine, psychology, biological and physical sciences.
Also includes the 2011 Handbook Collection & 2011 Encyclopedia Collection.  View terms of use.
Available to Campus Students, Faculty and Staff
Full text
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Online access to Standard & Poor's industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more.  View terms of use.
Unrestricted Resource
Full text
STAT-USA
Economic statistics, international market research, and trade leads produced by hundreds of U.S. government agencies. IMPORTANT NOTICE: The STAT-USA website is no longer available as of Sept. 30, 2010. This link is to a transition webpage that links to the data sources and statistics previously compiled by STAT USA.