LibGuides: ARTH 550B: Contemporary Art & Technology in Latin America: Home

Welcome to the Library Resource Page for ARTH 550B: Contemporary Art & Technology in Latin America

" "

a portion of: Perfect Strangers by Vik Muniz photo by the Metropolitan Transit Authority

This guide is intended to help you locate information for your research and to complete your assignments. If you need any further assistance, please contact your librarian, Rachel Crane, by email at: Rachel.Crane@wichita.edu or by phone at 316-978-5078.

For more information on other art-related issues, please explore the WSU Libraries subject guide for Art & Design.

Finding Articles

Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for art information indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals. It also indexes and abstracts over 13,000 art dissertations and indexes almost 200,000 art reproductions. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Terms of Use
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and some full-text articles from art periodicals published worldwide. Includes reproductions of works of art and books reviews. Coverage of indexing: 1984-present; full-text: 1997-present. (Combine with Art Index Retrospective to extend coverage back to 1929.)
Terms of Use
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles in art periodicals, yearbooks, and museum publications including reproductions of works of art and book reviews. Coverage: 1929-1984. (Combine with Art Full Text to extend coverage to the present.)
Terms of Use
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the comprehensive art reference work -- Oxford Dictionary of Art (formerly Grove Dictionary of Art). Covers all visual arts from prehistory to the present.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more. Coverage dates: Indexing 1984+, Abstracting 1984+, "select" Full Text 1994+
Terms of Use
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
New York Times (1851-3 years ago) with Index (1851-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the New York Times online for the years 1851-three years ago. This database offers full-page-images and article images. Digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Terms of Use
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to current content from high quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Coverage varies.
Terms of Use
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles in thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in over 150 academic disciplines. Includes full-text access to over half of the journals. Coverage: 1971-present.
Terms of Use
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive bibliography with over 40 million records of all types of materials (e.g. books, dissertations, manuscripts, serials, sound recordings, videos and more) cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Coverage:1200-present. Selecting WSU custom page provides localized content from Wichita State University Libraries' collection.

Possible Keywords and/or phrases:

bio art

computer*

conceptual*

cyber*

digital

electric*

environmental art

interactive

kinetic

luminism

mechanical

new media

optical

sound art

synthetic

video

Consider also: Searching for information about a specific country: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela, Mexico, Cuba, and etc.

Searching for information about a specific artist.

*Search with the asterisk (*) at the end of the word to include all possible endings. For example: computer* should include results with the words computer, computerized, computerization, and etc..

Can't Find the Full Text of an Article?

Try Interlibrary Loan!

Log in with your myWSU ID and password to request a copy of an article or book. Articles are emailed to you and requets can usually be filled within a couple of days. Books take 3-5 days on average and are sent to Ablah Library for you to pick up. It's free!