Kansas Library eCard - for access to databases, ebooks, and more! - Community User Services

Frequently Asked Questions about the Kansas Library eCard

How do I get a KLC?
What resources are available with a KLC?

Kansas Library eCard

This eCard is available to all Kansas residents and can be obtained at any public, school, or academic library in Kansas -- including Wichita State University Libraries. It provides access to digital materials available to all Kansas residents (ebooks/audiobooks, research databases). It is not so much a "card" as it is a login for online materials. Choose one of our two options to get library card:

1. Email us at librarystaff@wichita.edu with your full name (including middle initial), email address and date-of-birth.

2. Go to the Circulation Desk at the Ablah Library to get a Kansas Library eCard. Please bring a photo ID.

You can find more information about these wonderful resources here!

Image result for online databases
Online Databases

To access online databases freely available with the Kansas Library eCard, go to https://kslib.info/221/Online-Databases. These online databases cover many subject areas including general research, history & genealogy, health, business & technology, education, and much more. Databases include: ERIC Medline Academic Search Premier Business Source Premier Learning Express (testing resources) Britannica NoveList Heritage Quest Mango Languages Auto Repair Reference Center

Digital E-Book and E-Audiobooks

The State Library of Kansas works with Kansas libraries to provide digital library books for all residents, which includes downloadable audiobooks and eBooks. eBooks and eAudiobooks are available from multiple platforms. Some of the platforms are listed here (click the platform name to go to the homepage, where you can search the collection). The rest of the platforms can be viewed on the Kansas Library website.

CloudLibrary- bestsellers, large publishers. (eBooks and eAudiobooks)
Enki Library- great variety, includes self-published. (eBooks)
Freading- no holds, large collection. (eBooks)
Note: as of 12/2/2020 RB Digital is no longer available through the Kansas State Library. eAudiobooks are only available through CloudLibrary (which has expanded its audiobook collection to include audiobooks previously available through RB Digital). If you have questions or need help accessing the new platform see this tutorial.

If you intend to read these eBooks on a computer or tablet, you might need to download Adobe Digital Editions, free software which allows you to access the eBook file for the limited check-out period (see information about the check-out periods below).