Skip to main content

Collection Development

Collection Development

Welcome to the home page for Collection Development at Wichita State University Libraries with information and news about the library collections, collection policies and statistics, departmental contacts and staff, information about issues affecting collection development, and links to useful resources and tools.

Introduction

As part of its mission, the Wichita State University Libraries must provide access to information resources and develop library collections that meet the teaching and research needs of the WSU faculty, staff, and students. Collection development involves evaluating the strengths and weaknesses of current collections, assessing the needs of the university community, carefully selecting new materials in all formats, promoting the use of library materials, and continuing the effort to find the most effective means of providing information to the WSU community.


Subject Librarians

At WSU Libraries, Subject Librarians are library faculty who not only serve as Research and Instruction Librarians but who have been assigned the responsibility for evaluating, selecting, and otherwise developing the collections in one or more subject areas. As Subject Librarians, they serve as library liaisons to the corresponding academic departments and units. They not only handle faculty requests for library materials, but they also offer library instruction specially designed to meet the needs of specific classes, provide library orientation to new faculty, and are available for consultation by faculty or students for specialized reference. 

The library encourages department and program chairs to meet regularly with their liaison librarians in order to keep the library informed of changes in emphasis of programs and to learn about new library resources and services.

For a list of Liaison Librarians, please click here.


Acquiring Books

Librarians work to maintain a strong book or monograph collection that meets the needs of faculty and students even during fiscally challenging times. There are three basic methods of acquiring books:

  • To make "direct" orders, librarians use input from faculty and students, book reviews, advertisements, etc. as a basis for selection. Faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to make requests for specific books. They may forward written requests to the appropriate Subject Librarian or fill out the Purchase Request Form which will be forwarded to the appropriate librarian.
  • Other books come to the library "on approval" through a book vendor according to predetermined subject and other criteria. Some of these "approval" books are selected by librarians; others that are not needed are returned to the vendor.
  • Some books, called "continuations" are part of book series and come on subscription as "standing orders"; all issues in these series come automatically.

Acquiring Journals

WSU Libraries has a collection of over 3800 periodical subscriptions. At this time, new periodicals cannot be added to the collection without canceling current subscriptions of comparable cost. 

However, faculty and students are encouraged to forward any requests for new periodicals to the appropriate Subject Librarian as wish lists are maintained and consulted when funding becomes available. You may also fill out a Purchase Request Form.

In addition to the print subscriptions, WSU Libraries is continuing efforts to provide access to electronic journals and selected packages, whenever possible. Click here for a list of WSU electronic journal subscriptions.


Acquiring Electronic Databases

WSU Libraries provide access to a wide variety of electronic databases and other digital reference sources - both general and subject-specific - including several full-text resources. Most of these databases are available on the Web. In recent years, the purchase of some databases has been done in conjunction with consortia in order to insure cost savings. Click here for a list of the library's online databases.

Faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to provide librarians with feedback about the available databases and with suggestions for new resources. As networking throughout the university increases, so will remote access to databases that are housed on the library network and those that are available via the Internet. If faculty and students have any questions about how to access a database, please come to or call the Reference Desk at 978-3584 or contact the appropriate Subject Librarian.

Loading ...

Contacts

Coordinator:        Cathy Moore-Jansen,  cathy.moore-jansen@wichita.edu,  316-978-5080

Student Assistant:   Madison Zimmerman, mxzimmerman1@shockers.wichita.edu,  316-978-5072

For a list of subject librarians, click here.

Subject

Librarian Office Phone Email
Academic Success Angela Paul 122B x5084 angela.paul@wichita.edu
Accounting Meghann Kuhlmann 122E x5075 meghann.kuhlmann@wichita.edu
Adv. Educ. in General Dentistry Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Aerospace Engineering Sara Butts 122A x5017 sara.butts@wichita.edu
Anthropology Cathy Moore-Jansen 122H x5080 cathy.moore-jansen@wichita.edu
Art Education Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Art History Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Art, Design and Creative Industries Rachel Crane 122C  x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Biological Sciences Nathan Filbert 122G x5210 nathan.filbert@wichita.edu
Biomedical Engineering Sara Butts 122A x5017 sara.butts@wichita.edu
Business Meghann Kuhlmann 122E x5075 meghann.kuhlmann@wichita.edu
Ceramics Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Chemistry Nathan Filbert 122G x5210 nathan.filbert@wichita.edu
Choral Music Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Communication Sciences & Disorders Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Community Affairs Megan Macken 122D x5081

megan.macken@wichita.edu

Counseling Kathy Delker 122F x6331 kathy.delker@wichita.edu
Curriculum & Instruction Kathy Delker 122F x6331 kathy.delker@wichita.edu
Dance Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Data Megan Macken 122D x5081 megan.macken@wichita.edu
Dental Hygiene Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Dentistry Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Disability Services Angela Paul 122B x5084 angela.paul@wichita.edu
Economics Meghann Kuhlmann 122E x5075 meghann.kuhlmann@wichita.edu
Education Kathy Delker 122F x6331 kathy.delker@wichita.edu
Educational & School Psychology Kathy Delker 122F x6331 kathy.delker@wichita.edu
Educational Leadership kathy Delker 122F x6331 kathy.delker@wichita.edu
Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Sara Butts 122A x5017 sara.butts@wichita.edu
Elliot School of Communication Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Engineering Technology Sara Butts 122A x5017 sara.butts@wichita.edu
English Meghann Kuhlmann 122E x5075 meghann.kuhlmann@wichita.edu
Entrepreneurship Meghann Kuhlmann 122E x5075 meghann.kuhlmann@wichita.edu
Ethnic Studies Cathy Moore-Jansen 122H X5080 cathy.moore-jansen@wichita.edu
Finance, Real Estate & Decision Sciences Meghann Kuhlmann 122E x5075 meghann.kuhlmann@wichita.edu
Geology Cathy Moore-Jansen 122H x5080 cathy.moore-jansen@wichita.edu
Government Documents Sara Butts 122A x5017 sara.butts@wichita.edu
Graduate School Kathy Delker 122F x6331 kathy.delker@wichita.edu
Graphic Design Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
History Megan Macken 122D x5081 megan.macken@wichita.edu
Honors College, Dorothy and Bill Cohen Nathan Filbert 122G x5210

nathan.filbert@wichita.edu

Hugo Wall School of Urban Affairs Megan Macken 122D x5081 megan.macken@wichita.edu
Human Performance Studies Kathy Delker 122F x6331 kathy.delker@wichita.edu
Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering Sara Butts 122A x5017 sara.butts@wichita.edu
Instrumental Music Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
ICPSR Megan Macken 122D x5081 megan.macken@wichita.edu
Learning Communities Angela Paul 122B x5084 angela.paul@wichita.edu
Management Meghann Kuhlmann 122E x5075 meghann.kuhlmann@wichita.edu
Marketing Meghann Kuhlmann 122E x5075 meghann.kuhlmann@wichita.edu
Mathematics Nathan Filbert 122G x5210 nathan.filbert@wichita.edu
Mechanical Engineering Sara Butts 122A x5017 sara.butts@wichita.edu
Medical Laboratory Services Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Modern & Classical Languages Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Music Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Music Education Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Music Theory/Composition Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Opera/Music Theater Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Outreach K-12 Angela Paul 122B x5084 angela.paul@wichita.edu
Painting & Drawing Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Patents & Trademarks Sara Butts 122A x5017 sara.butts@wichita.edu
Performing Arts Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Philosophy Nathan Filbert 122G x5210 nathan.filbert@wichita.edu
Physical Therapy Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Physician Assistant Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Physics Nathan Filbert 122G x5210 nathan.filbert@wichita.edu
Political Science Megan Macken 122D x5081 megan.macken@wichita.edu
Printmaking Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Psychology Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Public Health Sciences Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Religion Nathan Filbert 122G x5210 nathan.filbert@wichita.edu
School of Nursing Aaron Bowen 122K x5077 aaron.bowen@wichita.edu
Sculpture Rachel Crane 122B x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Social Work Meghann Kuhlmann 122E x5075 meghann.kuhlmann@wichita.edu
Sociology Megan Macken 122D x5081 megan.macken@wichita.edu
Sport Management Kathy Delker 122F x6331 kathy.delker@wichita.edu
Statistics Nathan Filbert 122G x5210 nathan.filbert@wichita.edu
Theater Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu
Urban Affairs Megan Macken 122D x5081 megan.macken@wichita.edu
Veteran Services Angela Paul 122B x5084 angela.paul@wichita.edu
Vocal Studies Rachel Crane 122C x5078 rachel.crane@wichita.edu

 

Loading ...

Collection Development

What is Collection Development?

As part of its mission, the Wichita State University Libraries must provide access to information resources and develop library collections that meet the teaching and research needs of the WSU faculty, staff, and students. Collection development involves evaluating the strengths and weaknesses of current collections, assessing the needs of the university community, carefully selecting new materials in all formats, promoting the use of library materials, and continuing the effort to find the most effective means of providing information to the WSU community.

 

Liaison Librarians

At WSU Libraries, Subject Librarians are library faculty who not only serve as Reference Librarians but  who have been assigned the responsibility for evaluating, selecting, and otherwise developing the collections in one or more subject areas. As Subject Librarians, they serve as library liaisons to the corresponding academic departments and units. They not only handle faculty requests for library materials, but they also offer library instruction specially designed to meet the needs of specific classes, provide library orientation to new faculty, and are available for consultation by faculty or students for specialized reference. 

The library encourages department and program chairs to meet regularly with their liaison librarians in order to keep the library informed of changes in emphasis of programs and to learn about new library resources and services.

For a list of Liaison Librarians, please click here.


Acquiring Books

Liaison Librarians work to maintain a strong book or monograph collection that meets the needs of faculty and students even during fiscally challenging times. There are three basic methods of acquiring books:

  • To make "direct" orders, librarians use input from faculty and students, book reviews, advertisements, etc. as a basis for selection. Faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to make requests for specific books. They may forward written requests to the appropriate Subject Librarian or fill out the Purchase Request Form which will be forwarded to the appropriate librarian.
  • Other books come to the library "on approval" through a book vendor according to predetermined subject and other criteria. Some of these "approval" books are selected by librarians; others that are not needed are returned to the vendor.
  • Some books, called "continuations" are part of book series and come on subscription as "standing orders"; all issues in these series come automatically.

Acquiring Journals

WSU Libraries has a collection of over 3800 periodical subscriptions. At this time, new periodicals cannot be added to the collection without canceling current subscriptions of comparable cost. 

However, faculty and students are encouraged to forward any requests for new periodicals to the appropriate Subject Librarian as wish lists are maintained and consulted when funding becomes available. You may also fill out a Purchase Request Form.

In addition to the print subscriptions, WSU Libraries is continuing efforts to provide access to electronic journals and selected packages, whenever possible. Click here for a list of WSU electronic journal subscriptions.


Acquiring Electronic Databases

WSU Libraries provide access to a wide variety of electronic databases and other digital reference sources - both general and subject-specific - including several full-text resources. Most of these databases are available on the Web. In recent years, the purchase of some databases has been done in conjunction with consortia in order to insure cost savings. Click here for a list of the library's online databases.

Faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to provide librarians with feedback about the available databases and with suggestions for new resources. As networking throughout the university increases, so will remote access to databases that are housed on the library network and those that are available via the Internet. If faculty and students have any questions about how to access a database, please come to or call the Reference Desk at 978-3584 or contact the appropriate Subject Librarian.

Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers