LibGuides: MUSC 334: History of Music I: Finding Books and Articles

Oxford Music Online (Otherwise known as "The Grove")

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed.). Formerly Grove Music Online.

The WSU Online Catalog

WSU Online Catalog
Search for books, ebooks, videos, and other materials held by WSU Libraries.

To reserve materials in advance of your library visit, place a hold using the Libraries’ online catalog at https://libcat.wichita.edu/.

Instruction for Placing a Hold through the Library Catalog

A few helpful subject headings to consider:

Music 500-1400
Music 15th century
Music 16th century
Music 17th century
Music 18th century

Finding books (scores & soundrecordings) from other collections

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World's most comprehensive bibliography with over 40 million records of all types of materials (e.g. books, dissertations, manuscripts, serials, sound recordings, videos and more) cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Coverage:1200-present. Selecting WSU custom page provides localized content from Wichita State University Libraries' collection.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations on traditional, popular, and classical music and in disciplines such as musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, sociology, etc. Includes Web resources and audiovisual recordings.
Terms of Use
Music Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to periodical articles, book reviews, and dissertations in music. Coverage: 1979-present.
Terms of Use

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to core scholarly journals in business, education, health, arts & humanities, life sciences, literature, physical sciences, and social sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue of each journal.
Terms of Use
Includes: Arts & Sciences 1-15, Business 2-4, & Life Sciences
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full-text articles from scholarly journals and trade publications in business and economics worldwide. Includes industry information, regional and national newspapers, and full-text access to the Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1971-current.
Terms of Use
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Terms of Use
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of articles in thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers in over 150 academic disciplines. Includes full-text access to over half of the journals. Coverage: 1971-present.
Terms of Use