Skip to main content

Electronic Resources

Creating Article Links

You can use one of the tools below to create links to articles found in the WSU Libraries' e-journals or databases that will work off-campus.  The tool will modify links so that Wichita State University students, faculty, and staff can access articles from off-campus.  A handout on this tool is available here.

   To create links for use in BlackBoard, use the BlackBoard link creating tool.

   To create links for WSU web documents or handouts use the document link creating tool.

Article Link Creator - BlackBoard

Use the tool below when you need to create links to articles found in the WSU Libraries' e-journals or databases that will work off-campus in BlackBoard.  It will modify links so that Wichita State University students can access articles from off-campus and not require a second login.  This will not work for creating links in WSU web documents or handouts, instead use the link creator found here.

  1. When you find an article in a database, look for a link that says "Stable URL," "Persistent URL," or "Durable URL".  (examples)
  2. Paste the full link (Including the http://) from the database in the first text box.
  3. Click the "create link" button and a link will be generated in the second box.
  4. Copy and paste the link in the second box into your Blackboard course.
Link from database:


Paste this link into Blackboard:





Article Link Creator - WSU Web Documents & Handouts

Use the tool below when you need to create links to articles found in the WSU Libraries' e-journals or databases that will work off-campus.  It will modify links so that Wichita State University students, faculty, and staff can access the articles.  This will not work for BlackBoard; you will need to use the BlackBoard link creator found here.

  1. When you find an article in a database, look for a link that says "Stable URL," "Persistent URL," or "Durable URL".  (examples)
  2. Paste the full link (Including the http://) from the database in the first text box.
  3. Click the "create link" button and a link will be generated in the second box.
  4. Copy and paste the link in the second box into a WSU online document or  share it with your students or colleagues.
Link from database:


Paste this link into the web document or handout:





Wichita State University Libraries, 1845 Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0068 | Phone: (316) 978-3481 | Comments/Suggestions | Facebook Instagram Twitter YouTube Channel Federal Depository Library Program HathiTrust Digital Library Patent and Trademark Resources Centers