Reference Sources

A wealth of diverse primary source material has been sourced from six contributing archives, libraries and museums, depicting various aspects of African American community and culture. Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity. Also featured is a rich selection of visual material, including photographs, postcards, maps and ephemera.
Terms of Use

Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century provide a unique insight into interactions between Indigenous peoples of North America and Europeans This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps, newspapers, photographs and travel journals.
Terms of Use

Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, is a geosciences database containing over 3.3 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. Among the subjects covered are: environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy. Over 3,500 journals are reviewed for indexing as well as books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. The geology of North America is covered from 1669 to the present, and coverage dates back to 1933 for the rest of the world.
Terms of Use

Provides full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Terms of Use

This collection provides a wide-ranging and in depth look at the emigration of peoples from Great Britain, mainland Europe and Asia during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Personal diaries, letters, travel journals and scrapbooks are supplemented by original maps, watercolours, engravings, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material which provide significant context to these eye-witness accounts. Included within the collection are also documents from the late-eighteenth century discussing the early stages of emigration and mid-twentieth century photographs showing the immigration process.
Terms of Use

Provides access to citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film since 1963. Special features include the full text of the original article for some citations and a collection of images consisting of photographs, maps, and flags.
Terms of Use

A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the "long" nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Note: A gift of the Frank and Harvey Ablah Families Library Fund
Terms of Use